Linköping University

Linköping University (LiU) is one of Sweden’s larger academic institutions. The university has always been an innovator. LiU is among the Swedish universities that offer the largest number of professional degree programmes, in fields such as medicine, education, business, economics and engineering. Research is conducted within a variety of disciplines, with strong internationally recognised research environments, e.g. materials science, information technology and disability studies.

Since gaining university status in 1975 (and before that, too), Linköping University has worked with innovation in education and research. For example we were first in Sweden to introduce interdisciplinary thematic research, problem-based learning (PBL), graduate schools and several innovative study programmes.


Karolinska Institutet

Karolinska Institutet (KI) is one of the world´s leading medical universities. Its mission is to contribute to the improvement of human health through research and education. KI accounts for over 40 per cent of medical academic research conducted in Sweden and offers the country´s broadest range of education in medicine and health sciences. The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet selects the Nobel laureates in Physiology or Medicine.


The InterAcademy Medical Panel

The InterAcademy Medical Panel (IAMP) is a network of the world’s medical academies and medical sections of academies of science and engineering. Currently IAMP has 73 members world wide.

IAMP is committed to improving health world-wide, especially in low- and middle-income countries. The goals of the IAMP are:

  • to strengthen the capacity of academies to provide evidence-based advice
  • to governments on health and science policy;
  • to support the creation of new academies;
  • to support the creation of projects by member academies to strengthen
  • research and higher education in their countries; and
  • to issue consensus statements on matters of importance to global health.

The IAMP Secretariat is hosted by TWAS, in Trieste, Italy.

Dr. Peter McGrath
IAP/IAMP Coordinator

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences is an independent organisation whose overall objective is to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society. The Academy seeks chiefly:

  • to be a forum where researchers can meet across subject borders
  • to offer unique research environments
  • to support young researchers
  • to reward prominent contributions to research
  • to arrange international scientific contacts
  • to act as a voice of science and influence research policy priorities
  • to stimulate interest in mathematics and the natural sciences in schools
  • to disseminate scientific and popular-scientific information in various forms.

Every year the Academy awards the Nobel Prizes in Physics and Chemistry, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, the Crafoord Prize and a number of other large prizes.